Weekend Trip to Toronto & TEDxWaterloo

I sit here, from the 43rd floor of my friend’s condo in downtown Toronto, munching away on a fresh piece of French toast that I just prepared for us. The view here is incredibly amazing, as I watch the sunrise over Lake Ontario and one of the Porter planes land at Porter airport, on Toronto’s Centre Island.

Friday evenings, I usually carpool with one of my colleagues – now, close friends of mine – to Toronto. I am fortunate to have a group of friends in the city to stay with and they take really good care of me! (In fact, it’s more like, I go over to borrow their laundry machines and kitchens to cook up a storm – of course, for them!) There are not many Chinese grocery stores in Kitchener-Waterloo, so I use the opportunity to get most of my Asian groceries on the weekend.

What’s nice about Toronto is the fact that there are plenty of activities and new places to experience and visit. An abundance of opportunities are also available and with the networking/connections that come with it, it’s exciting to know that each new person you meet has a whole network other people. For someone like myself, it’s incredibly fascinating to constantly be meeting new people – be it the conversations or learning that takes place. That said, it is also very important to remember that friendships need to be cultivated over time. So with the plethora of people there seem to be, it is important to spend quality time with those whom you value. Remember to keep in constant communication with someone – send them a “how are you?” email to keep up once a month or so. This is what makes technology invaluable. The world is literally at the tips of your fingers!

Moving forward, I have some VERY exciting news to share! I’ve been accepted to attend TEDxWaterloo 2011. (Another goal of mine this term accomplished) With 1400+ applications, I cannot wait to meet everyone who will be attending. It sounds like it is going to be a very diverse group. The theme is also very interesting –  Discovering, Exploring, and Challenging The UncharTED. For more information, follow #TEDxWaterloo on: Twitter, Facebook, and website.

Last year, I attended Edmonton’s first TEDxEdmonton and then had the opportunity to attend TEDxToronto. (To read about my experience, click here) It was at that event where I met TEDxWaterloo’s co-chair and several of friends I have in Toronto now. For that trip, I used grants from the BSA Conference Fund. If you haven’t applied yet – I encourage you to do so! (Up to $500 per academic year.)

It’s time for my work out – Enjoy some of my cooking photos below!

Seafood congee topped with masago, fruit & veggie platter (organic carrots, grape tomatoes, apples, oranges), ending off with a hint of Lindt intense orange dark chocolate.

1) Chinese fried rice 2) Korean jab chae 3) Tangerine shrimp

Western Breakfast

Ukrainian Food (perogies & topped carmelized onions)

About Tyw

An energetic girl entering her third decade of life, seeking to expand her insights and grow new and meaningful friendships and life's lessons along the way. She's a passionate lady with experiences that have guided her to where she is today. Here's to journeys for the next 10 years! To view my blogs, see: http://bit.ly/tywblogs
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

