Short Trip to Edmonton – Birthday or Errands?

Looking at my box of drafted entries, my compositions have been piling up and me, being the perfectionist I am, have not had a chance to actually post something. My sincere apologies. Life has been quite intense lately, and the push seems to never stop!

This past week, I returned to Edmonton for a brief visit. The moment I got off the plane, my parents were there to welcome me with some flowers and a list of errands. It wasn’t a surprise to see that Edmonton had not changed. Maybe the construction on the highway, but that has been going on for a very long time… There are now 2 Chinese restaurants I have yet to try, so my parents took me to dim sum.

I enjoyed being able to order everything I wanted and having my parents take care of everything. What I noticed at the airport, was the amount of independence I had. I no longer wanted them to help me carry my suitcases or needed them to assist me. Through my experiences travelling, I have learned to take care of myself; being aware of where things are, watching out for my safety, and solving issues, independently. Perhaps a few things I should work on are giving into the luxuries of having my family around.

As soon as I got home, I had a bunch of dry cleaning that needed to be done, shoes to be fixed, laundry to be done, and a list of my own miscellaneous endeavours. This is the way I’ve been trained. I come from quite a structured family. (haha!) For a sneak peek at what “Mommy Wong” had In store for me… The first 3 days of my trip looked like this (I’ve included the entire outline):

Sat
  1. Arrive YEG
  2. Dim Sum (Emperor’s Palace)
  3. Purchase symphony tickets for my mum
  4. Hair Cut
  5. Passport Photo, Shopping, Grocery Shopping
  6. Costco
  7. Nap, Unpack
  8. Rameet comes over to watch the Hockey Game (Canucks vs. Boston)
  9. Dinner, Heart-to-Heart with Rameet
  10. Dessert (tiramisu) and coffee (Cuban)
  11. Sleep.
Sun
  1. Auto wake up at 7am.
  2. Play piano.
  3. Church with R. Zhou
  4. Vietnamese pho with A. Chow
  5. Second Cup heart-to-heart with A. Chow
  6. Buffet dinner with family friends/mentor
  7. Visit Granny Baghdady
  8. Clean room
  9. Sleep.
Mon
    1. Auto wake up at 6am.
    2. Passport Application (Canada Place)
    3. Met the cutest Chinese granny (90 yrs old) & helped her out…missed my own turn, but the lady was very sweet and did my transaction for me. (Karma, FTW!)
    4. Brunch with mum
    5. Asian grocery shopping, library
    6. Dentist  (wisdom tooth extraction…2 hrs…)
    7. Errands, Shopping
    8. Visit High School teachers/mentors
    9. Bank mtg, Pharmacist
    10. Nap, eat congee

 

Tues-Thurs
  1. Wake  up at 5am/6am
  2. Work until about 5pm or so MT.
  3. Meetings
  4. Birthday dinner event, best friend makes me lunch, WONG family birthday dinner.
  5. Get sick and sleep very early on Thurs. Email manager, director. Move piano lesson. (Scheduled to teach)
  6. SLEEP.
Friday
  1. DAY OF REST.
Other
  1. special visit from Schulz family+kids, phone calls from sister in Malaysia, ice cream with J.Pheh, Wong famliy BBQ, Treat parents to dinner (Japanese food), pack

I have an email I’m going to send out today for the Civic Engagement System for the IMPACT! conference, so I better get to drafting that. I’m sitting on the plane right now, trying to make use of the 3 hours I have to make up for the 2 hours I will be losing when I land. Before my flight took off, I BBM-ed my friend (coincidentally, also a colleague) who will be picking me up! I also met up with a friend inside the terminal! How exciting. He had just landed from his trip to Australia.

In other news, this weekend was the Millennium Network’s first National conference after the mandate ended. Being away from Toronto, I was glued to the Twitter feed for most of the time and even watched the Saturday keynote via Live Stream from our Facebook fanpage. BBM and Twitter have been amazing, as I have been living vicariously through my friends and others. I loved receiving their updates and seeing their photos. I cannot wait to get back and see everyone at our next Millennium Network events/reunions. I haven’t seen anyone since the event I hosted at my place in Waterloo 3 weeks ago.

Until next time, au revoir!

Tammy YT Wong

About Tyw

An energetic girl entering her third decade of life, seeking to expand her insights and grow new and meaningful friendships and life's lessons along the way. She's a passionate lady with experiences that have guided her to where she is today. Here's to journeys for the next 10 years! To view my blogs, see: http://bit.ly/tywblogs
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

