Evaluate and explore, future career and more…

Oh, Edmonton summer. For more than half the time since I posted another blog it was raining, and during the times that it wasn’t, I remember being eaten alive by hoards of mosquitoes the moment I walk out the door. Thank goodness spraying lots of bug spay helps. And here in the office I get to enjoy the Glee songs playlist that one of SU Vice Presidents play everyday. It sure does make my working hours more fun.

For the past two weeks, I actually managed to have some time off. For Canada Day I had the day off from Students’ Union and luckily I was not scheduled to work at Future Shop. Thanks to that, I had a chance to explore more of the beauty of Edmonton by going to the Devonian Botanic Garden of the University and had a chance to take care of a sick boyfriend for the rest of the day. I am really looking forward to the upcoming festivals here in the city. The (tentative) plan of action is:

  1. Edmonton Street Performers Festival
  2. Capital Ex
  3. Heritage Festival
  4. Fringe Festival
  5. Animethon

A complete calendar of all the events throughout the summer can be found here.

Last weekend, I took the entire weekend off and I went for a trip to Banff. It was my first time there and I really enjoyed climbing up the mountains, exploring the town and the museums and luckily (maybe) we did not end up meeting any bears or wolves. Cute chipmunks are everywhere though, and an occasional deer or goat showed up.

I also had my co-op coordinator visit me last week. It gave me another opportunity to reflect on my experience here so far in the Students’ Union. I really like the fact that the skills that I am gaining from here are very valuable and transferable to many other career opportunities in the future. At this point in time, I honestly still do not have a very solid idea on what career path I would actually take upon graduation. What I realized now for sure, whichever career path I choose, is that I would work hard on creating a solid sense of work-life balance. I try not to feel too pressured about it. I wanted to take time and learn from every experience that I encounter as much as I could. Hopefully, for the remaining time that I have in the university, I will gain more insight through my classes, volunteer and work experiences and potential future co-op terms.

I am also working on a new project, developing and facilitating icebreaker games for the future meetings with students that we are going to hold in the future months. I am pretty excited and nervous at the same time. It sure would be another great skill that I could add in my skill set. I believe my training from the Business and Beyond Toastmasters Club will definitely come in handy for overcoming nervousness, and gaining better presentation and facilitation skills.

‘til next time!

Giselle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

