Squeezing All the Juice Out of the Fruit Called Life

This post is taken from my personal blog: tyw lifestyle blog.

I don’t know what it is, but I’ve been feeling a little out of the writing mojo for the past little while. My life has been consumed by projects and a ton of extracurricular events to plan. I took a step back last night and realized that I have been putting too much time into these events. It’s fun, for sure. And I’ll bet having so many people come together all the time is beneficial for everyone. That said, it’s seemed to become something that’s more hectic than enjoyable. This is a a good sign to stop.

A friend of mine calls every few days and we reminisce on life every so often. I highly recommend taking your morning or evening to have a time for self-reflection. Maybe during some stretching or breathing exercises. (And if you’re religious, spending time praying.) Sort out your emotions and close activities from that day to refresh yourself for the next day. If you cannot even take care of yourself, how do you expect to “change the world” and be a leader to others? You can’t.

My cousin once told me that it was time to change her role or her environment when she consistently woke up and did not go to the office at her own will. It probably sounds unreasonable, but I, too, believe that one’s happiness should come first. And this is not to say that you should quit your job when you are faced with an obstacle – absolutely not! In fact, challenges are the greatest teaching tools for oneself. When your career lacks challenges and opportunities to leave your comfort zone, you should either ask for these opportunities and seek them out or find a greater challenge. Your 20’s are going to be a significant factor in determining where you are headed the rest of your life. This is not the time to sit around!

Enough reflective chat. I feel like I’m lecturing; I apologize. Recently, I was asked to recite a poem at my cousin’s wedding in August. I feel honored to be a part of his wedding. As my closest cousin in Canada, I’ve watched him grow up, mature, and achieve success. Now he is turning the leaf of a fresh page in the book of life. In probably one of the most fulfilling chapters for mankind. Over the next few days, I am going to write a poem. This will be much more meaningful.

This tweet best summarizes my weekend:

@TammyYTwong: How was YOUR Saturday?? Greyhound, Spynga, dim sum, mentor chat, shopping, Stonegrill dinner, GO train, lounge performance, home. #tywlife

(Note: Spynga – 25 mins spinning, 25 mins yoga, 10 cool down. Stonegrill was part of Summerlicious 2011 in Toronto and I went to amazing Millennium Network members. The performance was by ICONIQ MUZIK and my best friend, Anita Tewari. On Sunday, I had Alu Prata (roti stuffed with potatoes, onions, cilantro, herbs), went to a field hockey practice, and saw “Captain America” with a pretty sweet guy working at Facebook Canada. Life is pretty good.)

About Tyw

An energetic girl entering her third decade of life, seeking to expand her insights and grow new and meaningful friendships and life's lessons along the way. She's a passionate lady with experiences that have guided her to where she is today. Here's to journeys for the next 10 years! To view my blogs, see: http://bit.ly/tywblogs
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

