Handling Panic Attacks

I think best way to summarize my reaction for the first few seconds upon coming into these events is:

Panic attack number 1– I have overlooked an important logistical detail for two important monthly meetings I’m organizing – the availability of the Chair, of all people! At times, I actually hide his calendar because whenever I see all his colored blocks of appointments, one after the other, I sometimes wonder how he keeps his sanity! It seems like the habit bit me back this time.

While thinking several things – terrible things that may happen which could either be a rescheduled meeting but with only half the attendees making it, or not having a meeting at all, I informed him about the situation. As it turns out, running the meetings on the most voted-on meeting date and time is still workable for him. Thank goodness.

Panic attack number 2– I think I just got the most intimidating question here in my placement so far.

“What exactly have you learned over the course of your degree?”

How did I feel? Look at picture above again.

I somehow feel that given the perception about my major not leading into any particular career path, I really can’t share anything valuable or useful in a very tangible sense. I just stated what I remember at least in my BLAW classes and the nature of how we discuss material. I shared about corporate governance and bankruptcy, secured transactions and personal property, international transactions and trade, and how we used real cases to analyze how the laws are applied. I shared about the Business Economics classes I am taking so far and an overview of what I have learned in my Accounting classes.

As it turns out, she asked me this question as she is curious as to what my undergrad program is like and because she wanted to know if, based on what I learned in class, I’m interested in taking up another project where my knowledge will come in handy. I’ll be working with other staff with business-related degrees – we’ll be like a B. Com powerhouse! An HR Major, a Finance Major, and a BLAW Major with a bit of Accounting (me). I’m really excited about the details of this project and how I can apply my learning in a real sense at last.

Lesson 1 – Things work out in the end. Many times in a stressful situation I forget about something as simple, and as real as this. It’s all about staying calm, admitting my fault, and focusing on fixing the problem.

Lesson 2 – Sometimes, as a co-op student, you end up feeling that you can’t do much; that since you’ll be there for a short amount of time, the responsibilities that you have are really entry-level. What’s important to remember is not to underestimate what you can contribute towards the operations of your department and your organization.

– Giselle

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Handling Panic Attacks

  1. Interesting to see what you went through with a bit of added humor in there. Anyways, good job.

    chris

    How To Help Daughter With Anxiety Attacks

  2. Pingback: Considering the balancing act, Academics during the Co-op program | CESA

  3. Pingback: Why blog? – Giselle’s short list of her reasons for blogging about Co-op | CESA

Leave a Reply

