How I got here

I guess a good place to start is the beginning:

I’m Type-A. I like things to be organized, and I like things to go the way I plan. I plan everything, I don’t like it when things are chaotic. I like simplicity, and I like patterns. Everything about my past year has been none of those things, and it’s been the best thing in the world for me.

It’s 2009, I’m a first year in the Faculty of Engineering, I really don’t like what I’m learning and the people in this faculty aren’t the friendliest. So, I decide to switch to Sciences. I spend a year taking Science classes and again decide that this really isn’t my thing. My parents suggest accounting (background – both my parents are accountants) after a year and a half I cave and take Accounting 300. It clicks. Great, I think to myself, what am I getting myself into…..

June 2011 I find myself accepted into the Faculty of Business. My best friend suggests I apply for co-op. Well, I think to myself…. It can’t hurt. After being accepted into co-op, I really had no idea what I was getting myself into.

Recruiting was probably one of the most hectic times of my life. But, it was definitely one of the most worthwhile. Through the seminars and guest lecturers I learned the necessary skills to be successful in the recruiting process. I had one of the most helpful co-op coordinators; I was in his office almost every day for guidance on resume and cover letter formatting.

Accounting recruiting is not something to be taken lightly, it’s a lot of work, there are a lot of people to impress and it’s really, really, tiring. You need to dress up every day, and show up at the events with a smile on your face. I promise you if you are wearing heels, your feet will be sore after running around campus all day. If you aren’t used to wearing a blazer, or nylons it can be uncomfortable to wear them all day, and I even had someone look at me in one of my classes and say “you know we aren’t marked on how we dress” – I think my mouth may have fell open at that point. Regardless, it’s a lot of work, you will be tired after 3 weeks of schmoozing, you will feel like you have no time to do school, but I promise if done properly it will all be worth it.

After a daunting month and a half of meet-and-greets, endless hours on my resumes, countless interviews and the stress of mid terms weighing down on me, I landed an offer with the firm I was hoping to work for!

After accepting it felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders, except for you know…midterms

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I got here

  1. S says:

    I blew off all recruiting activities except for going to interviews and still got six offers. I think most students take recruiting too seriously.

Leave a Reply

