The importance of a thank-you note

Throughout my time this past year in the real world there is one thing I have learned that stands out far beyond the rest; a simple Thank-You note.

I went through what I thought was a grueling recruiting process; it was stretched out over 3 weeks and then interviews to follow. I was tired. However, the recruiting teams at the firms that all the students were applying were a lot more tired. Not only did they have to sift through over 300 resumes, they had to host events and get to know the interviewees. Many hours are poured into recruiting, and that goes for any business practice.

Sending a thank-you note may seem “old-school”… who even writes letters anymore? But, it’s definitely worth it. I sent thank you cards to the two individuals that interviewed me for the current position I am in now, and a couple of the individuals I made strong contacts with. One of the ladies I gave a card to said “in all the years of recruiting I have never gotten a thank-you card”, and well I got an offer at the firm I wanted. Scratch that, I got an early offer! I was ecstatic. It’s crazy how far taking 10 minutes out of your day to write out a thank you. That’s all it takes!

You never know if the position you are hoping for is between you and another similar candidate.  What will set you apart? What will make them pick you over the other person? Showing you care really proves to managers that you are willing to go the extra-mile, and that is worth a lot.

While typing out a thank you email is great a lot of people send them, and hiring managers get swamped with emails during recruiting season. Crafting up a hand-written card will definitely stand out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The importance of a thank-you note

  1. whether says:

    You are really a effective writer, your voice is fantastic.

  2. You are so great at writing, you could have been an English professional.

  3. Cathy says:

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first
    comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for beginner blog writers? I’d
    genuinely appreciate it.

  4. Your writing style is beautiful, you should consider writing for profit.

Leave a Reply

